Report: Victory capitulate to City in Melbourne Derby humiliation

Melbourne Victory: 0
Melbourne City:
6 – Jamie Maclaren (34’), Florin Berenguer (52’) Rostyn Griffiths (56’), Connor Metcalfe (74’, 77’), Stefan Colakvoski (90+3)

Melbourne City has fired home five second-half goals against a capitulating Melbourne Victory to record a 6-0 Melbourne Derby triumph.

The margin is the biggest in the rivalry’s history, the six goals the most scored by an A-League side in 2020-21 and the result, coach Grant Brebner admitted, an utter humiliation.

“Quite simply it wasn’t good enough,” he said. “I’m not going to sit here and try and find excuses for it. 

“It was humiliating. Unacceptable.”

Casting a now-familiar, downtrodden figure following the game, Brebner wouldn’t be drawn on if he expected to remain in charge of the club heading into next week’s meeting with Adelaide United. 

“I don’t want to think that far ahead just now,” he said. “I’m still thinking about that 90 minutes. Emotionally it’s a tough one. 

“I love this football club. I’ve been involved with this football club for 16 years and I want what’s best for this football club.

“To get drawn on any questions like that, I’m not going to get involved in it. Like I said, I want what’s best for this football club.”

Enjoying Joey’s coverage of Australian sport?
Support his work by buying him a coffee:

Facing off for the first time this season, City took just a one-goal lead into half-time despite a near-total control of the contest thanks to a fortunate deflection from Jamie Maclaren. 

But a woeful Victory capitulated in the second stanza as Florin Berenguer, Rostyn Griffiths, a Connor Metcalfe brace and Stefan Colakovski’s first-ever A-League goal ensured the final scoreline accurately reflected the game’s dynamics.

Firmly rooted to the bottom of the table following the defeat, the downward trajectory of Victory over past seasons has brought an increase in scrutiny to the club’s board and management. Brebner, however, answered in the affirmatively when asked if he should be held up as a scapegoat, before going on to elaborate under follow-up. 

“I would say not a scapegoat… but I would say that the finger should be pointed at me as the head coach of the football club,” he said. 

“I’ve always said that I would take responsibility for nights like tonight. I’m not going to push the blame anywhere else. I’m the coach of this football club and I am the one that needs to look at the game tonight, analyse the game and come up with reasons for why that happened. 

“It’s not a finger-pointing exercise, it’s not a scapegoat. It’s reality.”

Shrugging off an early missed penalty, Maclaren opened the scoring in the 34th minute when an Andrew Nabbout shot from a Craig Noone cross bounced off his leg for his eighth goal of the season.

Berenguer made it 2-0 in the 52nd minute when he deftly flicked home from close-range after being picked out by a low Nabbout cross, and Griffiths made it three when he rose highest to meet a City corner routine four minutes later. 

Metcalfe scored twice in quick succession to make it five before boyhood Melbourne Heart fan Colakovski weaved into space and fired home in the 93rd to complete the destruction.

“I know you guys are saying it’s a big thing because it’s a derby, but it was another game for us,” City coach Patrick Kisnorbo said.

“The important thing is our performance and how we executed that.

“That’s what I’m happy about the most.”

Enjoying Joey’s coverage of Australian sport?
Support his work by buying him a coffee:

Melbourne Victory: 20. Max Crocombe (GK), 2. Storm Roux, 4. Nicholas Ansell, 7. Callum McManaman, 8. Jacob Butterfield, 9. Rudy Gestede, 10. Robbie Kruse, 13. Birkan Kirdar, 15. Aaron Anderson, 22. Jake Brimmer, 33. Dalibor Markovic
Subs: 1. Matthew Acton (GK), 6. Leigh Broxham, 11. Ben Folami, 14. Jay Barnett, 17. Elvis Kamsoba, 25. Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio, 35. Zaydan Bello
Coach: Grant Brebner 

Melbourne City: 1. Tom Glover, 3. Scott Jamieson, 4. Nuno Reis, 7. Rostyn Griffiths, 9. Jamie Maclaren, 10. Florin Berenguer, 11. Craig Noone, 13. Nathaniel Atkinson, 15. Andrew Nabbout, 18. Connor Metcalfe, 22. Curtis Good
Subs: 33. Matthew Sutton, 2. Scott Galloway, 14. Naoki Tsubaki, 16. Taras Gomulka, 17. Stefan Colakovski, 19. Benjamin Garuccio, 23. Marco Tilio
Coach: Patrick Kisbnorbo 

Referee: Alireza Faghani VAR: Kris Griffiths-Jones 

Enjoying Joey’s coverage of Australian sport?
Support his work by buying him a coffee:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s